How do i compile a program?

I’m new to Linux, and EOS is my first distro. I learned some installation methods for programs, but now i downloaded a linux client for a game but there is no tar.gz file or executable. I made a google search about it and i think i need to compile it or something. I found a tutorial but when i tried to do a ./configure command (wich in the tutorial it says it’s the standard installation process), it says the command doesn’t exist. Would love to get some easy to understand help, getting a little frustrated here.

Endless OS is a little different in the aspect of installing new software. If a application is not in the App Store, you need to build a Flatpak by yourself.

To build a Flatpak, one must already know how to build a application the old-fashioned way. To start experimenting around, i recommend you to run the commands for building inside a Toolbox container:

toolbox create
toolbox enter

Inside this container, you now have all the tools from a regular Fedora Linux installation available. As you wish to build applications, you also have to install the required packages for doing so:

sudo dnf -y group install "Development Tools"
sudo dnf -y group install "C Development Tools and Libraries"

Now you are able to build (basic) applications using autotools (“configure”).

Example

In this example we build the “Galculator” a simple replacement for the GNOME Calculator. I assume that you are already in the toolbox.

Fetch and extract the sources:

wget http://galculator.mnim.org/downloads/galculator-2.1.4.tar.gz
gzip -dc galculator-2.1.4.tar.gz | tar -xvf -

Build:

cd galculator-2.1.4
./configure

This will yield a error for a missing dependency (intltool). We install it and try again:

sudo dnf -y install intltool
./configure

This will yield another error, this time about missing GTK 3.0 Development libraries. Install it and try again:

sudo dnf -y install gtk3-devel
./configure