Add statistics software

In gnu/linux there are good statistical software packages that are very useful for teaching. LibreOffice Calc has a basic staddistical package that may suffice in most cases in primary education, but in secondary education it is aimed at slightly more complex statistical tests in addition to the possibility of interacting with other graphical interfaces and file formats that are consider de facto standards (like SPSS *.sav format).

Therefore I propose the addition of the following software:
GNU PSPP
SOFA Statistics
Gretl

These applications work quite well for the purposes I expose, but I imagine it would help to have software like GNU Octave as a replacement for Matlab and R (R-Commander).

Thank you

@haevalencia
https://support.endlessm.com/hc/en-us/articles/210527183-Can-I-install-Linux-software-and-apps-from-Ubuntu-Fedora-and-others-on-Endless-

@LeandroStanger I appreciate your attention, but I don’t understand the meaning of your answers.

I’m new to Endless OS, but I’ve been using GNU/Linux distributions for years, and the first thing I did was read the documentation (which got me here first).

Although there is some effervescence to package the applications using Flatpak, only few developers are doing so now and especially in the GNU project they have their own standardized distribution system or an alternative one like Guix. Even you can read a related request on the PSPP mailing list

Thank you

Thanks again, but do you read my answers?

I know the Flatpak website and I have installed many applications available there and in other repositories. The request is for applications that are not in that format and whose authors don’t intend to port them to a new format.

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi there,