Binding Arbitration: Really?

Apologies for starting my first post on a sour note, but I’ve been using Linux for over 20 years now and I’ve never–ever–come across a distro that requires signing a End User License Agreement (EULA) requiring me–and every other user–to agree to ‘binding arbitration’ in the case of any legal disagreements before I can install it. Anyone with two brain cells to rub together is going to hesitate here–as they should. What happened to GNU? In short: WTF?

Thanks,
Mike

Hi Mike,

Thanks for reading the license agreement in full and taking the time to give us feedback. This EULA agreement is a bit of historical artifact from nearly 10 years ago when Endless was a Silicon Valley VC-funded startup, building our own hardware devices. We had some very… protective… lawyers who were ensuring maximum investor value etc etc and the EULA for the hardware devices was frankly ridiculous in how restrictive and prescriptive it was, but in support of avoiding misuse of the devices and our services, managing liability arising from that, etc.

Shortly after I joined in 2016 we changed tack towards being a software company, offering the OS for download for the first time, and we had to edit the agreement to find a reasonable balance between the intentions of that original version (and managing our relationship with our existing/ongoing hardware customers) and something lighter that would work with software-only (whether downloaded or via OEM partners such as Asus and Acer) users. We did make sure that all of the OSS licenses prevailed over the license agreement, and we also removed the ludicrous idea that you could have your OS license revoked if we decided we didn’t like the way you were using it / our servers / etc.