Brand New Laptop, but no space on my HD? Need help! (Newbie here!) EDIT: SOLVED! :D

Hi all! I am so glad I found this community.
My windows laptop died while I was travelling. I purchased a new lappy, with Endless 3.6.1 installed. However, I’m already getting an error message, and it seems my root folder is already 99% full. No clue how, or what to do. I’m a complete newby, so I need someone with patience to help me out. I want to learn Linux and there is no better way to learn that needing to!

First off, I should have space, right?! My HD is a 250 Gig SSD drive, with only Endless installed AFAIK.

When I ran my df in the terminal, it says that it’s the sysroot folder which is full…here is what I get;

Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on

devtmpfs 1930676 0 1930676 0% /dev

tmpfs 1988268 237080 1751188 12% /dev/shm

tmpfs 1988268 12404 1975864 1% /run

tmpfs 5120 4 5116 1% /run/lock

tmpfs 1988268 0 1988268 0% /sys/fs/cgroup

/dev/sda3 29861648 29252280 352836 99% /sysroot <— problem??

tmpfs 1988268 4 1988264 1% /tmp

tmpfs 397652 88 397564 1% /run/user/1001

/dev/mmcblk0p1 15424512 1055104 14369408 7% /run/media/ *deleted computer name for privacy)/BAD6-A637

Help? I really need someone to take me step by step cause this is all new… <3 Thanks!

Just a quick update after checking out some other posts;
I ran:
ostree admin undeploy 1
which freed up some space, so now my root folder is at 91% full, which is good, but I should still have a heck of a lot more space, right?
Thanks again for any help!

Something that would help us a lot to understand the problem would be this:

1. Open the application called ‘Terminal’
  2. In this application run the command:

eos-diagnostics

1. The above command will create a file with the information of your system (example: eos-diagnostic-160614_111731_UTC + 0100.txt); Send us this file so we can analyze and see a possible solution
1 Like

Hi! thanks for your help, I’ve actually solved the problem on my own!