How to install additional software like VeraCrypt, Wine, etc.?

Hi guys,
as a total Linux newbie I just bought my first Linux (acer) laptop with Endless OS preinstalled. Originally I intended to install Ubuntu or Linux Mint, but as Endless was preinstalled I decided to give it a try - also because it seems quite easy and convenient for some friends who are no “tech-savvy users and developers other Linux distributions are oriented towards” :wink: (https://support.endlessm.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000097483-Why-can-t-I-use-apt-get-dpkg-dnf-or-rpm-commands-).
I discovered Endless OS and some of its advantages, but am still struggling with additional software. Even if the software I need is available for Debian/Ubuntu, obviously you still can’t install it, unless it’s available via Endless “App Center” or via flatpak/flathub.org.
Or is there any chance to install other software like VeraCrypt (which I desperately need to get access to my files within a TrueCrypt/VeraCrypt-Container) or Wine (which I need for apps like tax software that only run on Windows)?
I would like to keep working with Endless OS, but at least these two programs are unquestionably show-stoppers for me.
I found Como instalar VERACRYPT with a similar question in portuguese - but unfortunately Rafael didn’t get any answer up till now.
Any solution?

Try this:

• Go to https://www.veracrypt.fr/en/Downloads.html
  • Download the Linux version to your Downloads folder
  • Open a Terminal
  • Run cd Downloads
  • Run tar -xjf veracrypt-1.22-setup.tar.bz2
  • Run ./veracrypt-1.22-setup-gui-x64
  • When prompted, choose 2 (Extract package file veracrypt_1.22_amd64.tar.gz and place it to /tmp)
  • Run cd /tmp
  • Run tar -xzf veracrypt_1.22_amd64.tar.gz
  • Run sudo cp -ar usr/* /usr/local

With luck you should now be able to launch VeraCrypt. But please suggest to the VeraCrypt developers that they might like to publish their software on Flathub.