Memory Space Problem

Hello,

I have been using your Endless OS for several years and I am very happy with it. The OS is installed on an Asus notebook R207N and runs stable.

But since version 3.9.0 (201109-141440) I have a problem now. On startup I get the error message that the disk space is only 835 MB. But I have only 5 programs with a total of 990 MB installed and no further data is stored. But the flash memory has a size of about 30 GB. The memory analysis shows 26 GB for sysrot. Is the Endless OS really that big? Under UEFI I also see that apparently two versions of Endless OS are installed: 3.9.0 (ostree:0) and 3.8.7 (ostree:1).

Now what can I do as a layman to free up space on the flash memory? I would appreciate your technical advice on this.

Many thanks and greetings from Berlin in Germany

Ulrich Hilker

Can you please install the application “Disk Usage Analyzer” and check with it which folders are eating up your space.

Hello Egrath,

and thanks for your answer. Unfortunately I do not know what is behind the names. Maybe the photo here will help.

Further greetings from Ulrich

eos-diagnostic-201209_143703_UTC 0100.txt (604,0 KB)

And maybe this analysis file will also help to identify the problem. I created it with Terminal and the command “eos-diagnostics” …

23 GiB for OSTree Deployments is a little bit too much IMHO, i have two deployments which took a total of 9 GiB. Can you please run the following command:

sudo ostree admin cleanup 

This will delete unused and orphaned files from the repository. Check with the Disk Usage Analyzer again when finished.

If you problem still persist, please run the following command:

sudo du -hcS /sysroot/ostree 2>&1 | tee /dev/stderr | gzip -9 >/sysroot/home/${SUDO_USER}/ostree.txt.gz

Then upload the file ostree.txt.gz from your Home directory to this thread for further analysis.

Too bad, both suggestions unfortunately do not work. Here are the picture. Hopefully you have another tip for me.