Minecraft and coding?

Hello all. I’m a computer science teacher at the middle school level. I just discovered Endless today, and I have to say I am so impressed by what you are trying to do to bridge the digital divide!

My area of expertise is teaching coding to middle schoolers. For those first learning text-based coding, I use an approach that I call Mython, which is a mashup of Minecraft and Python. I didn’t invent it but lean heavily on the book Adventures in Minecraft by O’Hanlon and Whale. It seems like it would be perfect in your Endless curriculum, but I can’t seem to find what version of Minecraft you have included in your distro. Is it Minetest? An early version of Java Minecraft, such as the one given to the Raspberry Pi foundation? Or something else? Matt mentioned partnering with MinecraftEdu in one video, and I’m wondering if that is the current version by Microsoft, or the earlier mod?

You can see my approach by searching me on YouTube, where I am CrouchingPython.

Keep being awesome, people!

1 Like

Hey, thanks for reaching out and sharing your experience teaching middle schoolers.
I’m not very familiar with Minecraft, however our apps come from an app store called Flathub.
Minecraft on flathub appears to be Minecraft Java Edition version 1.0.1221. There is also a separate Minecraft Pi edition app.

On a related note, we’re stepping up efforts around learning through game making, and are entering collaboration with Endless Studios. They have a learning tool called Endstar available which has some similarities to Minecraft but goes beyond. Sign up here then click here if you want to try it - Windows and Mac only for now, but we’ll have it available on Endless OS sometime in the next couple of months.

Thanks for the reply, and congratulations on the work you’re doing!

I’m not sure exactly how to get started on Endstar, though I did sign up for it, and I’m running Windows. I noticed that it seems to be built on Unity, yes?