Picasa install wine phoenicis

Hello,

I am new to Endless os, Linux in general.
Always using Windows.
Well, I quiet love this new thing :slight_smile:

But I do still miss some programs/apps.
Like Picasa (I know it’s no longer available, but you still can get is somewhere, already have an .exe file ready)

I did some research and came out on something called wine.
Looks like for Endless, this is now Phoenicis ?

Problem here is I have no idea how to use this?
Is there a possibility to launch an .exe file true this?
Just want to install and use Picasa.

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

you can’t directly, as EOS is Linux based and does not support running Windows Applications Out-of-the-Box.

If you really need to run Windows applications, you have to run “Wine” - which is a Windows Runtime Environment for Linux inside a Podman container.

To install such a Podman container, follow this Tutorial:

When finished, you can install Wine inside this container. I haven’t written a EOS specific tutorial for this yet, but there are plenty Tutorials out there in the wild - google for “Ubuntu Wine Tutorial”.

Thanks!

That sounds complicated… :slight_smile: I am very new to Linux - Endless.

That’s the problem, I can find a lot of things for Ubuntu and Mint,
but with Endless I don’t have that many options it seems.

Nothing I can install and it will install Picasa for me? :wink:

Nothing I can do with the Phoenicis PlayOnLinux app ? Description is: Install and run Windows software on Linux?

I highly recommend to simply use a alternative software for Picase - something that’s still developed :slight_smile:

Personally, i use XnView as my picture management solution. Runs on many different Platforms (Windows, Mac, Linux) and is available in EOS.

haha Yes I know :slight_smile: Sometimes change is a good thing lol
But then again, being a windows user for whole my life and starting with Linux is already a nice step :slight_smile: