Unable to boot successfully on Pi4B

I am new to EndlessOS and I have flashed it on a 64GB Samsung Bar Plus. I am seeing the same phenomenon described in this thread:

Does this mean EndlessOS is still unsupported on Pi4B, or does it mean that I need an SD Card on the Pi4 so that EndlessOS can install on it?
I was assuming that the OS would boot the same way Raspberry Pi OS does.
I download the full OS (13GB) and had to toss it thinking it was corrupted during download, but I downloaded the 2GB one and it behaves the same.

What do I need to do?

Do you have unpacked the image file before writing it to the SD card? The image you can download has the extension xz which is a compression method. I just used the following commands to successfully download, verify and boot the image (on a RPI4b):

Download the image:

wget https://images-dl.endlessm.com/release/4.0.4/eos-arm64-rpi4/base/eos-eos4.0-arm64-rpi4.220406-202520.base.img.xz
wget https://images-dl.endlessm.com/release/4.0.4/eos-arm64-rpi4/base/eos-eos4.0-arm64-rpi4.220406-202520.base.img.xz.asc

Verify the image:

wget https://d1anzknqnc1kmb.cloudfront.net/eos-image-keyring.gpg
gpg --verify --keyring ./eos-image-keyring.gpg eos-eos4.0-arm64-rpi4.220406-202520.base.img.xz.asc eos-eos4.0-arm64-rpi4.220406-202520.base.img.xz

this will yield a message similar to the following one if the download has been successfull and is uncorrupted:

gpg: Signature made Wed Apr  6 22:53:33 2022 CEST
gpg:                using RSA key CB500F7BC9233FAD32B4E7209E0C1250587A279C
gpg: Good signature from "Endless Image Signer 1 (EIS1) <maintainers@endlessm.com>" [unknown]
gpg: WARNING: This key is not certified with a trusted signature!
gpg:          There is no indication that the signature belongs to the owner.
Primary key fingerprint: CB50 0F7B C923 3FAD 32B4  E720 9E0C 1250 587A 279C

Uncompress the image:

xz -d eos-eos4.0-arm64-rpi4.220406-202520.base.img.xz

Write the image to the SD card: