Wifi dongle on PC not compatable

Hi I am a beginner in pc and I am using the endless os 5.0. I read the information that yo wrote about the wifi but I do not have a clue of what you are all talking about. I not finding my way around.

The issue I have is that I installed endess os on a pc that used internet trough a wifi dongle and when endless os was installed the dongles stopped working.

I would say the pc is not even seeing it. I contacted the endless os support but they are not replying anymore, actually they never said anything usefull either. andyway here are the diagnostics that I managed to make. I made 2. 1 with the dongle in the usb port and the other without the dongle inserted.

Any help would be appreciated

eos-diagnostic-231022_202952_UTC 0200.txt (2,1 Mo)

eos-diagnostic-231022_203150_UTC 0200.txt (2,1 Mo)

Sorry that the docs in this area are hard to access when you have not had much exposure to the technicalities here.

From your diagnostics log, I can see that you have a USB-based Realtek adapter which is unsupported on Endless OS 5.0.

The in-development Endless OS 5.1 includes a driver that claims to support this device. A beta release will be published in the next few days, with the main release published a few days after. Because Realtek devices present problems so frequently, I am not sure how well this device will work with this new driver, but it is worth a try.

1 Like

Hello Daniel, thank you for your reply. Ok so I guess the best thing to do than is to buy a sure fire dongle for my pc rather than wait and buy another usb to reinstall the endless 5.1 beta.

Do you or can you or even is it possible to see from the reports I shared what and if there are any usb3 dongles that will 100% work with my pc (+endless 5.0)?

Thank you for your time my friend

Sadly it’s pretty hard to judge the usb-wifi Linux compatibility of devices.